2 More MLAs Quit, 30 Ministers Resign: All You Need to Know About the Political Turmoil in Karnataka

Pronami Chetia
Pronami Chetia

Karnataka government crisis deepened as 2 more Independent MLAs quit from the coalition assembly.  Here’s all that emerged up to Monday in the state.

A huge turmoil continues to sink deeper in the Karnataka coalition government after 30 ministers of the JD(S)-Congress government, including 21 of Congress and nine of JD(S) quit the government, to initiate a way for a cabinet reshuffle to save the government from complete collapse.

Meanwhile, two independent MLA withdrew their support from the coalition government which bringing down the total numbers of government in 224 Karnataka Assembly.

Top BJP leader including Home Minister Rajnath Singh has denied any involvement in the political turmoil of Karnataka while the ruling parties have accused them of horse-trading.

The 13 MLAs who had resigned last week triggering a fresh crisis in the State, have now moved to Goa after a short stay at a Mumbai hotel. An Independent MLA who resigned also accompanied them to Goa.

Top developments till now: 

1. To support rebel MLA’s - all 30 ministers of the government quitted on Monday to give a free hand to Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, in order to pave way for a Cabinet reshuffle.

2. Two Independent legislators also withdrew their support yesterday from the ruling parties.

3. "Whatever is happening presently in Karnataka, we have no relation with that” said Rajnath Singh while speaking on the Karnataka turmoil during a Lok Sabha session. He added that BJP does not have any hand in the crisis that has hit the JD(S)-Congress government.

4. Governor Vajubhai Vala is accused of encouraging horse trading by Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara following the flurry resignations of Congress and JD(S) legislators.

5. The total strength of the JD(S)-Congress coalition's stands as 116 besides the Speaker while the BJP has 107 MLAs with the support of the two independents in the 224-member House.

6. The coalition's tally will be reduced to 103 if the speaker accepts the resignations of the 13 MLAs.

7. Karnataka Congress' legal department has petitioned Speaker and requested him not to accept resignations.

8. BS Yeddyurappa, former CM and Karnataka BJP president said that he is expecting more MLAs to quit, till then BJP will wait and watch. He also denied any involvement in the present crisis.

9. BJP, led by Yeddyurappa will hold protests against the ruling coalition on Tuesday.

10. BJP is also demanding the resignation of CM Kumaraswamy.

11. BJP MP Shobha Karandlaje said on Monday, “The governance in Karnataka has completely collapsed and Kumaraswamy should resign immediately and pave way for the formation of a new government”

Like this article?

Hey! I am Pronami Chetia. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Nadi Ad

Subscribe to our Newsletter and get handpicked updates!