1. News

5.0 Lockdown Guidelines: What is Allowed & What Not; Here’s ‘Unlock’ Rules for Different States

Pronami Chetia
Pronami Chetia

The fifth phase of lockdown has begun across the country from June 1. However, the government has started opening the lockdown gradually and renamed it as Unlock 1. The Centre has issued revised guidelines for Lockdown 5.0 for reopening of activities outside containment zones across India.

While the government has allowed several relaxations, the lockdown has been extended in containment zones till June 30. The movement of individuals will be prohibited between 9 pm and 5 am across the country under the revised guideline of 5.0 lockdown.  

Let's know 5.0 lockdown in detail along with the new guidelines and rules that have implemented across the nation from June1. 

  • As per the Ministry of Home Affairs, only essential activities will be allowed in containment zones till June 30.

  • Three phases of relaxations have been announced in lockdown 5. 

 In Phase 1:  

  • MHA has issued national directives for COVID-19 management, including compulsory use of face masks and social distancing norms.

In Phase II:  

  • Schools, colleges, educational/ training/ coaching institutions etc., will be opened after consultations with States and UTs.

In Phase III:  

  • Dates for their opening of International air travel of passengers; operation of Metro Rail; cinema halls, gymnasiums, swimming pools, entertainment parks will be decided based on the assessment of the situation. 

These Activities are Prohibited in 5.0 Lockdown  

As per government’s decision, some activities will remain prohibited which includes international air travel of passengers; operation of Metro Rail; cinema halls, gymnasiums, swimming pools, entertainment parks, theatres, bars and auditoriums, assembly halls and similar places; and, social/ political/ sports/ entertainment/ academic/ cultural/ religious functions/ and other large congregations. “In Phase III, dates for their opening will be decided based on an assessment of the situation,” the MHA guidelines said. It also reduced the night curfew hours from 9 pm to 5 am (7 pm to 7 am earlier) 

Lockdown rules in Different States/UTs 


Delhi government has decided to open malls, restaurants and hotels partially with strict social distancing norms and reduced capacity, and permission to operate salons and barbershops with ample space between customers.  


The worst affected state in corona pandemic has decided to open all markets, market areas and shops, except malls from June 5 on the odd-even basis in non-containment zones as the state government on Sunday announced phase-wise reopening under the “Mission Begin Again”. However, religious places, shopping malls, hotels and restaurants will continue to remain closed.  

Uttar Pradesh 

Yogi government has allowed interstate travel but asked the district administrations of Ghaziabad and Noida to take a strict call on the movement of people from adjoining New Delhi.  

Uttar Pradesh Chief Secretary R K Tiwari said, “There is no ban on the interstate and intra-state movement by persons or goods.” 

Moreover, the order also includes that there is no need for a separate approval or an e-permit for this. But at the same time, the order said there will be a ban on the movement of people from the containment areas in Delhi to the NCR areas of Gautam Buddh Nagar and Ghaziabad.  


However, the government of Karnataka has lifted restrictions on the inter-state and intra-state movement of people and goods as it laid the roadmap for easing lockdown in a phased manner outside the containment zones. In keeping with the directives of MHA, Chief Secretary T M Vijay Bhaskar issued an order, which will immediately come into effect and “will be in force up to June 30, 2020.” 

“No separate permission/approval/e-permit will be required for such movements,” the order read. 


The Telangana government lifted the restrictions on inter-state movement of people while extending the lockdown in containment zones till June 30. However, certain restrictions are still there in non-Containment Zones and will remain till June 7. 

An official release said, adding that night-time curfew would be implemented daily from 9 PM to 5 AM. Shops would be allowed to remain open only till 8 PM, it said. “No shops/establishments, except hospitals and pharmacies, will remain open after 8 PM,” the release said. 


Like this article?

Hey! I am Pronami Chetia. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters