Australian University to invest AUD 5 million in India; help farmers double their income

A top University of Australia is planning to invest AUD 5 million as a part of cooperation with Agricultural Universities in India, to leverage research as well as innovations helping farmers in the country double their income by 2022.

Western Sydney University (WSU) Vice Chancellor, Barney Glover said that Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has promised to double the farmer’s income in the next five years. He however noted that achieving this target will need innovation and development, as well as grass root problem solving for farmers.

The Australian University has forged a joint venture with the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) and 13 state agricultural universities as part of a new scheme planned to fight global food security issues presented by climate change.

The research will basically concentrate on the areas of protected cropping and associated aspects of agriculture and horticulture as well as collaborative teaching and learning.

Glover said “Australia and India share some challenges in establishing a protected cropping industry thus we will have similar research questions”. He added that the two countries share alike climates. We have monsoonal areas, very dry areas hence the challenges of broad agriculture are also similar in many ways. However, Glover pointed out that India has an added difficulty.  He also informed that "Work is going on in Pune to identify the range of recommendations to raise the income of the small farmers mainly”.

The WSU along with ICAR and state universities across India will work to up skill the sector and train early career academics with the help of joint research training programs in horticulture and agriculture.

Trilochan Mohapatra, Director General of ICAR said, "Collaborative research between ICAR and WSU will bring together researchers, academics and students from partnering institutions and provide them with a platform to benefit from mutual expertise”.

Top state agricultural universities of Rajasthan, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Maharashtra, Kashmir, West Bengal, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu will be involved in the project.  

Share your comments

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign up with your email to get updates about the most important stories directly into your inbox

NADI Solar Pumps
if(!Request.Browser.IsMobileDevice) { var rnd = new Random().Next(1, 3); if (rnd == 1) { else {