India Election Result 2019: Pragya Singh Thakur, Malegaon Blast Accused Leading in Bhopal; Digvijaya Singh Trails

Abha Toppo
Abha Toppo

The Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency is undoubtedly the centre of attraction in the Lok Sabha election in Madhya Pradesh, where the BJP lost power to the Congress last year. Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur of Bharatiya Janata Party and Digvijaya Singh of the Congress Party are contesting for Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency.

As per latest reports, Pragya Singh Thakur of BJP is leading in Madhya Pradesh’s Bhopal, against Congress's Digvijaya Singh as voting in the Lok Sabha elections 2019 is still underway.

To recall Bhopal voted in the sixth phase of 2019 general elections on 12th May.

Pragya Singh Thakur, an accused in the 2008 Malegaon blasts had joined the Bharatiya Janata Party in April, almost three years after being cleared of charges under the strict Maharashtra Control of Organised Crime Act (MCOCA). She faces charges for the sequence of bombings that killed 6 people and injured over 100 in Maharashtra's Malegaon in 2008.

A contentious & polarizing figure well-known for her provocative speeches, Thakur has anoounced that taking on the former Congress Chief Minister will not be hard. Bhopal has been a BJP stronghold for almost three decades.

BJP chief Amit Shah told the party has fielded the Malegaon blast accused against Digvijaya Singh since he was ‘creator’ of the word ‘saffron terror’ & this time, the people will decide.

MP-born Thakur was an active member of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, the ideological adviser of BJP & the women's wing of Vishwa Hindu Parishad. Thakur took an oath of silence till counting day following a huge argument over her comments praising Mahatma Gandhi's assassin Nathuram Godse.  She refused to apologise although the BJP urged her to, denouncing & disowning her comments.

She eventually apologized but could not escape PM Modi's public condemnation that "I will, from my heart, never excuse them for insulting Bapu”. Later BJP made it clear that it planned no action against Thakur, an accused in the 2008 Malegaon blast.

Like this article?

Hey! I am Abha Toppo. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Nadi Ad

Subscribe to our Newsletter and get handpicked updates!