1. News

Krishi Jagran Congratulates R K Chaturvedi on Assuming Charge as Secretary, Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals

Chander Mohan
Chander Mohan

Shri R K Chaturvedi, a 1987-batch IAS officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre, has assumed charge on 1st June 2020 as Secretary in the Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals, Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers, Government of India. Before being appointed as Secretary, he was serving as an Additional Secretary and Financial Advisor in the Ministry of Culture. He has worked as Chairman of CBSE and as DG in the   National Skill Development Authority-NSDA. 

Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals (DCPC) aims: 

To formulate and implement policy and programmes for achieving growth and development of the chemical and petrochemical sectors in the country; and. 

To foster the spirit of public-private partnership for overall development of above mentioned sectors of the industry. 

The Department has the mandate to deal with the following broad subject matters: 

Insecticides excluding the administration of The Insecticides Act, 1968 (46 of 1968); 

Dye-stuffs and Dye-Intermediates; 

All organic and inorganic chemicals, not specifically allotted to any other Ministry or Department; 

Planning, development and assistance to all industries dealt with by the Department; 

Bhopal Gas Leak Disaster-Special Laws relating thereto; 


Industries relating to production of non-cellulosic synthetic fibers (Nylon Polyesters, Acrylic etc.); 

Synthetic Rubber; and Plastics including fabrication of plastic and moulded goods. 

The Department has five major divisions viz. Chemicals, Petrochemicals, Administration, Statistics & Monitoring (S&M) and Economic Division. The Internal Finance Division is common to the three Departments in the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers. There are three Central Public Sector Undertakings (CPSU) in the chemical sector namely Hindustan Organic Chemicals Ltd. (HOCL), HIL (India) Limited and Hindustan Fluorocarbons Limited (HFL), which is a subsidiary of HOCL and one CPSU in the petrochemical sector viz. Brahmaputra Cracker and Polymer Ltd. (BCPL). The autonomous institutes under this Department are Central Institute of Plastics Engineering & Technology (CIPET) and Institute of Pesticides Formulation Technology (IPFT). 

D.V. Sadananda Gowda is the Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers. Shri Mansukh Mandaviya is the Minister of State for Chemicals and Petrochemicals. 

Chaturvedi has replaced Shri P.  Raghavendra Rao who superannuated on 31st May 2020. 

Like this article?

Hey! I am Chander Mohan. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters