1. News

Sachin Tendulkar, Allan Donald & Cathryn Fitzpatric Inducted into ICC’s Hall of Fame

KJ Staff
KJ Staff

Indian batting icon and one of the greatest batsmen, Sachin Tendulkar has been inducted into the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Hall of Fame along with the South African pace legend Allan Donald & two time World Cup winning Australian woman cricketer Cathryn Fitzpatrick on 18th July 2019 at a ceremony in London.

About Sachin Tendulkar

The 46 years old former right hand Indian batsman is regarded as one of the greatest batsmen in the world and remains the top run scorer in both Tests and ODIs. He has scored 34,357 runs across formats i.e 15,921 runs in Tests and 18,426 in ODIs and is the only batsman to have 100 internationals hundreds under his belt. He is the sixth Indian to be inducted into the ICC Cricket after Kapil Dev, Rahul Dravid,Anil Kumble, Sunil Gavaskar and Bhishan Singh Bedi.

Tendulkar said "It’s a big honour for me to receive this award and I would like to thank all those who were by my side over a long international career. My parents, brother Ajit and wife Anjali have been pillars of strength while I was lucky to have someone like coach Ramakant Achrekar as an early guide and mentor".

About Allan Donald 

The 52 years old Allan Donald  known as the 'White Lightening' was one of the greatest South Africa's fastest bowler ever who had ended with 602 Wickets i.e 330 in Tests and and 272 in ODIs. He played his last international match in 2003.

Donald said , "The biggest shock you get is when you open an e-mail that says congratulations Allan Donald, you have been inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame! It hits you hard because it is a prestigious award and something that you can't take lightly. I thank the ICC for the huge honour".

About Cathryn Fitzpatric 

Fitzpatrick is the 2nd highest wicket taker of all time in the women's cricket with 180 ODI in 109 matches and 60 in Tests which makes total of 240 wickets. She is the eighth woman to win the award. As a coach she led the Australian women’s team to three World Cup titles.

Fitzpatric said "To gain recognition alongside many of the games' giants is a huge honour. I look at the list of past inductees and what stands out most is not only their outstanding talent but that they were game-changers. They took the game on and changed the way it was played and thanked ICC for the huge honour".

 Congratulations to Sachin Tendulkar, Allan Donald and Cathryn Fitzpatric 

Like this article?

Hey! I am KJ Staff. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters