Special Parliament Session Demanded on Farmers Agitation

Chander Mohan
Chander Mohan

The Farmers Protests has entered the 7th day of their protest. The all India Kisan protest started on 1st June in 10 states and day by day the protest is increasing. The Government is not even to ready to listen to their problems. Now they had demanded that special parliament session to be asked for to discuss the issues.

The members of farmer organizations demanded action against Madhya Pradesh police responsible for killing farmers, convening of special Parliament session for discussion on distress in farming community and approval of two Kisan Mukti Bills in Parliament, extension of Rythu Bandhu scheme to tenant farmers.

Major farmers’ organizations which are part of All India Kisan Sangharsh Coordination Committee (AIKSCC) organized a protest at the Tank Bund here while similar protests were organized in district headquarters across the State to mark the first anniversary of killing of six farmers by Madhya Pradesh Police.

AIKSCC, the largest nation-wide coalition of farmer organizations gave the call for ‘Farmer Martyrs Day’ (Shaheed Kisan Diwas) and demanded action against the Madhya Pradesh Police who killed the protesting farmers. The AIKSCC sought guaranteed remunerative prices and freedom from indebtedness under the two Kisan Mukti Bills.

They also demanded that Telangana Government extend support including Rythu Bandhu to actual cultivators, including tenant farmers and podu farmers, and not to city-based businessmen and employees and NRIs.

The protest site near the Yogi Vemana statue on Tank Bund was marked by slogans saluting the martyred farmers and several leaders and activists of the farmer organizations as well as many civil society organizations from the city took part in the protest.

The protesters later took out a ‘shav yatra’ carrying the corpse of Central Government and attempted to burn the effigy which was foiled by the police resulting in a scuffle.

They also said Telangana Chief Minister and TRS leaders should ensure the passage of the Kisan Mukti Bills which got support of 21 political parties.

Those who participated in the protest included Pasya Padma (Telangana Rashtra Rythu Sangham), Kirankumar Vissa (member of AIKSCC National working group and Rythu Swarajya Vedika), Vemulapalli Venkatramayya (All India Kisan Mazdoor Sabha), T. Sagar (Telangana Rythu Sangham), Sayanna (Telangana Raitanga Samiti) and Ashalatha (Mahila Kisan Adhikar Manch), and representatives of many city-based civil society organizations.

Like this article?

Hey! I am Chander Mohan. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters