1. News

Wow Vegetarian Egg! IIT Delhi Develops Moong Daal -Based Egg

Chander Mohan
Chander Mohan

Vegetarian Egg!!!

Here’s some good news for the vegetarians. An artificial egg made entirely from Moong Daal has been developed by Dr Kavya Dashora, Assistant Professor of the Centre for Rural Development & Technology, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi.  

The group of six students in the laboratory has come out with a vegetarian Egg made from Moong Daal. The students group comprising of Ms Kamakshi, Vinayak and Yash tried to bring a new type of the Egg - without the need for hen or poultry. 

Based on the definition of vegetarian as a diet which excludes consumption of animal flesh, technically, yes, eggs are vegetarian, since they are not animal flesh (the meat, muscles or tissue of an animal). Many vegetarians include eggs in their diet, while still abstaining from eating chicken, cows, pigs, fish and all animals. According to terminology, you're an "ovo-vegetarian," that is, a vegetarian who eats eggs. Note that while eggs are vegetarian, they are certainly, under no circumstances, considered vegan.


However, in some parts of the world, particularly in India, eggs are indeed considered to be meat, and some vegetarians don't eat it. Vegetarian Hindus and those from a Hindu background consider eggs to be meat and do not include them in their vegetarian diet. So, while most Westerners believe that eggs are vegetarian, many Easterners do not; this means that whether or not eggs are vegetarian is dependent on a cultural agreement.

Now, vegetarians too can eat and enjoy the Eggs... 

Like this article?

Hey! I am Chander Mohan. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters