1. Agriculture World

Sudhakar Rao Desai Re-elected as President of Indian Vegetable Oil Producers’ Association

Abha Toppo
Abha Toppo
Sudhakar Rao Desai

Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Emami Agrotech Ltd, Sudhakar Rao Desai has been re-elected as the President of the Indian Vegetable oil Producers’ Association (IVPA).

Desai is a management graduate from the IRMA and has about 30 years of work experience in Dairy, Agribusiness & Oilseeds industries.

On the other hand, Vipin Gupta, Chief Executive Officer of Louis Dreyfus Commodities India Pvt Ltd, has also been re-elected as the Vice-President of IVPA.

The IVPA release said that the 43rd annual general body meeting of Indian Vegetable oil Producers’ Association has elected the office-bearers for the year 2020-21.  

Quoting Sudhakar Rao Desai, the release said the association has made the requisite efforts in the imposition of safeguard duty & later in bringing the Palmolein or RBD Palm into the restricted list much to the cheer of domestic industry in line with the ‘Make in India’ policy.

The association has worked towards suspension of the import licences and exclusion of the stock limits in oils.

It has taken up strongly the matter of zero duty imports from the SAFTA nations. This has been causing price and margin damage to the domestic industry & indirectly hurting the farm community in the domestic oilseed sector.

The release also mentioned that IVPA that has been well recognised in the policy matters, would continue to work seamlessly with the Government, associations and trade bodies to promote, protect & safeguard the interests of the domestic vegetable oil industry.

Like this article?

Hey! I am Abha Toppo. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters