1. News

Government is Giving Huge Subsidy to Build House; Check Eligibility and Method to Apply

Pronami Chetia
Pronami Chetia

The central government has been initiating different welfare schemes for the development of farmers and their family. In recent years, the Modi government has come up with many welfare schemes, out of which few went well while others did not. As per reports, now every farmer can have their own house under the PMAY (Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana) Scheme which was launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi that effected from 17.06.2015. Moreover, the government is giving subsidy on the interest of home loan to the farmers under this scheme where they can easily get their own house.  

Eligibility for Pradhan Manti Awas Yojana

Who is eligible for Pradhan Manti Awas Yojana? 

The following individuals and families are eligible for this scheme:  

  • Economically Weaker Section (EWS) – Families with an annual income up to Rs. 3 Lakh.

  • Low Income Group (LIG) – Families with an annual income between Rs. 3 Lakh and Rs. 6 Lakh.

  • Middle Income Group I (MIG I) – Families within an annual income between Rs. 6 Lakh and Rs. 12 Lakh.

  • Middle Income Group-II (MIG II) – Families with an annual income between Rs. 6 Lakh and Rs. 12 Lakh.

  • Women belonging to EWS and LIG categories.

  • Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST), and Other Backward Class (OBC).

In addition to the above, beneficiaries can avail the benefits of this scheme by meeting the following few eligibility criteria – 

  • He/she must not own a house to fulfil the Pradhan Mantri AwasYojana eligibility.

  • The individual must also not avail the benefits of any other housing scheme by the State or Central Government.

  • Any applicant whose age is between 21 and 55 years can avail the benefit of this scheme. This loan is divided into different categories according to the annual income of the applicants.

  • The annual household income for the EWS category can be up to Rs 3 lakh. Similarly, an annual income limit of Rs 6 lakh has been kept for the LIG category. At the same time, the limit of 12 and 18 lakhs has been fixed for MIG-1 (MIG-1) and MIG-2 (MIG-2) categories.

How Many grants will be given by PMAY?

Under this scheme, the government provides a credit-linked subsidy. The subsidy amount is given on interest which means that the applicants of EWS and LIG category will get 6.5 percent subsidy. MIG category applicants will get 4% and the MIG-1 category will get a 3% subsidy. 

How to apply for PMAY Scheme? 

Beneficiaries can apply for PMAY through the following: 


Individuals can visit the official website of the scheme to apply online. They need to have a valid Aadhaar Card to apply.  


Beneficiaries can apply for the scheme offline by filling up a form available through Common Service Centre (CSC). The price of these forms is Rs. 25 + GST. 


How to check your name in PMAY 2020 Beneficiary List? 

Those eligible for the scheme can check their name in the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana list by following these few steps: 

Step 1: Visit the official website. 

Step 2: Click “Search Beneficiary”. 

Step 3: Enter the Aadhaar number. 

Step 4: Click “Show”. 

Like this article?

Hey! I am Pronami Chetia. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters