1. News

Happy Eid Ul Fitr: Let’s Know the Five Pillars of Islam

Shipra Singh
Shipra Singh
The Holy Quran

Eid Ul Fitr 2021 in India will begin in the evening of May 13 and end in the evening of May 14. Also known as “Festival of Breaking the Fast” or Lesser Eid, this is an important festival for Muslims around the world. It marks the end of Ramadan fasting, which is a month-long dawn-to-dusk fasting.  

This is an auspicious time period for family visits, special prayers, doing charity work, giving gifts, and likewise. Eid Ul Fitr falls on the first day of Shawwal, which is the 10th month of the Islamic calendar.  

Do you know Muslims around the world celebrate only two important holidays in the entire year? One is on Eid Ul Fitr, which is the ending of the Ramadan fasting, and Eid Al Adha, which is the festival of sacrifice. These two festivals hold a special significance in the hearts of Muslims around the world. Apart from this, Muslims celebrate other festivals, but not as public holidays.

Interesting fact

Islamic calendar is different from Gregorian calendar. The former is based on lunar phases, while the latter is based on solar phases. Dates of the Islamic calendar are calculated on the basis of the lunar phases. A new month in Islamic calendar starts with the appearance of waxing crescent moon in the sky.

That’s why it is often said that the celebration of Eid depends on whether the crescent moon (fondly called as the “smiling moon”) will appear on the sky.

The 12-month lunar year is about 11 days shorter than the solar year, which is used in the Western world and contains 365 days.

Significance of Ramadan

Ramadan falls on the 9th Islamic month. This is when almost all Muslims fast from sunrise to sunset (for the whole month). They do not smoke, do not drink even water, and abstain from sex during the day (fasting hours).

Prophet Muhammad received the teachings of Quran (holy book of Islam) during the month of Ramadan. The teachings served as guide for mankind and a means to judge between the right and the wrong.

Ramadan fasting is called Sawm. This forms one of the five pillars, which are the core principles of Islamic faith.

The Five Pillars of Islamic Faith

1. Shahada (Profession of Faith): The core belief of Muslims is “There is no god but God (Allah), and Muhammad is the Messenger of God.”
2. Salat (Prayer): Muslims pray five times in a day – at dawn, at noon, at mid-afternoon, at sunset, and after dark. They face the Mecca while praying.
3. Zakat (Alms): Islamic law states that Muslims must donate a fixed amount from their income to community members who are in need.
4. Sawm (Fasting): Healthy adult Muslims fast during the days of Ramadan, which is the 9th month of Islamic Calendar. During fasting hours, they abstain from eating, drinking (also water), and having sex. This temporary deprivation is done to renew their awareness and gratitude for whatever Allah has given them, including the Quran, which was revealed during this month.
5. Hajj (Pilgrimage): Every Muslim with good health and sound finances must visit the holy city of Mecca at least once in a lifetime.

How to Celebrate Eid Ul Fitr?

On Eid Ul Fitr, Muslims do special morning prayers. They greet each other with formal embraces and say “Eid Mubarak” or “have a blessed Eid.” Family gatherings, gift giving, and feasting are the major features of this festival. Every Muslim house prepares special dishes and thanks the Allah for everything they have been given in this life.

Krishi Jagran wishes everybody a Happy Eid.
Eid Mubarak to all!

Like this article?

Hey! I am Shipra Singh. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters