Kargil Vijay Diwas: Krishi Jagran Salutes the Real Heroes of Kargil War on its 20th Anniversary Today

Abha Toppo
Abha Toppo

The country today (26th July 2019) celebrates the 20th anniversary of the ‘Kargil Vijay Diwas’. On 26th July 1999, the Kargil War formally came to an end, with the Indian warriors successfully recapturing mountain heights that were seized by Pakistani intruders.

The last full-blown armed conflict between India and Pakistan was the Kargil War.  Also, it was the first time the two countries got into an armed conflict after becoming nuclear powers.

How Kargil War Started

The Kargil War was prompted by the Pak Army encroaching into India across the Line of Control (LoC) and capturing strategic mountain peaks. The intrusion was first noticed in May 1999, but at that time it was believed that the intruders were terrorists or militants and not regular Pakistan Army troops. But as Indian soldiers fought heroic battles to get back the heights of Kargil, it became clear that it was actually the Pakistan Army and not militants that had intruded across the LoC.

India then launched a military & diplomatic attack, pushing the Pakistani intruders off the captured heights & isolating Islamabad on an international level. India recaptured all the peaks by 26th July 1999, bringing the Kargil war to an end.

How many soldiers were killed in Kargil War

It is important to mention that more than 500 Indian soldiers were killed in Kargil War while the estimates for Pakistani losses range from 400 - 4000 (approx) soldiers.


To honour the Kargil Soldiers or Kargil War's Heroes, who gave their life for the nation, 26th July is observed as Kargil Vijay Diwas in their memory. Right from the Kargil–Dras sector in North India to New Delhi, Assam and Kerala, a number of events & functions are organised all over the country to honour the contributions of the armed forces.

Indian President, Ram Nath Kovind will join the Kargil Vijay Diwas celebrations in Dras town of the Kargil district. Today the Army Chief in Drass will receive a 'Victory Flame' that was lit by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on 14 July at the National War Memorial in Delhi.

It will be merged with the eternal flame at the Kargil War Memorial. Together with Defence Minister, the 3 Service Vice-Chiefs will also pay homage to Kargil martyrs at the National War Memorial in the national capital on the occasion of Kargil Vijay Diwas.

The theme of this year's celebrations is 'Remember, Rejoice & Renew'.

Like this article?

Hey! I am Abha Toppo. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Nadi Ad

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up with your email to get updates about the most important stories directly into your inbox