LIVE Tamil Nadu Election Result 2019: Celebrations Begins as DMK Likely to Emerge as the Single Largest Party; List of Constituency Wise Leading Candidates

Tooba Maher
Tooba Maher

As per the present trends, DMK is leading in 37 constituencies and AIADMK is leading in 2 constituencies. Dayanidhi Maran is leading in Central Chennai, whereas Karthi Chidambaram is leading in Sivaganga. Also OP Ravindranath is leading in Theni, Pon Radhakrishnan in Kanyakumari, Anbumani is leading in Dharmapuri and A Raja in Nilgiris. 

The counting of votes is in process for the 38 Lok Sabha constituencies after the elections in Vellore Lok Sabha election constituency were cancelled due to the seizure of huge cash. Currently, DMK is likely to emerge as the single largest party in the state of Tamil Nadu.

Interestingly, All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) are the two major parties who placed their respective candidates in the Lok Sabha election 2019 from Tamil Nadu. All the latest updates of the seat share, vote count, early trends, leading candidates, party-wise updates can be checked on the Election Commission of India website,

Though, the counting in Chennai South Lok Sabha constituency is proceeding at a slower speed. But, DMK's Tamizhachi Thangapandi is leading from the South Chennai Lok Sabha constituency of Tamil Nadu. Good news is that even the celebrations begin outside DMK headquarters in Chennai.

If the by-elections in Tamil Nadu are concerned, then the DMK and AIADMK are going neck-to-neck. Out of the total 18 seats as per latest trends, MK Stalin led DMK is leading on 10 seats while the Tamil Nadu CM Edappadi K. Palaniswami led AIADMK is lagging behind and is leading on 8 seats.

The main candidates in the Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha elections 2019 are Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M. Thambidurai (Karur), Union Minister and BJP's Pon Radhakrishnan (Kanniyakumari), H. Vasanthakumar (Congress-Kanniyakumari), Karti P. Chidambaram (Congress-Sivaganga), H. Raja (BJP-Sivaganga), Kanimozhi (DMK-Thoothukudi), Tamilisai Soundararajan (BJP-Thoothukudi), T.R. Baalu (DMK-Sriperumbudur), Dayanidhi Maran (DMK-Chennai Central), A. Raja (DMK-Nilgiris) and Anbumani Ramadoss (PMK-Dharmapuri).

Indian National Congress candidate S Jothimani is leading with over 82,000 votes in the Karur Lok Sabha constituency of Tamil Nadu. AIADMK's M Thambidurai is second in lead with over 36,000 votes.

Also, A Raja of DMK is leading the Nilgiris Lok Sabha constituency in Tamil Nadu by more than 1.91 lakh votes. However, M Thyagarajan of AIADMK has till now secured around 1.22 lakh votes. 

Like this article?

Hey! I am Tooba Maher. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Nadi Ad

Subscribe to our Newsletter and get handpicked updates!