1. Agriculture World

Kisan Credit Card Scheme: Rs 14 Lakh Crore Worth of Loans Granted so far this Year!

M Kanika
M Kanika
Kisan Credit Card Beneficiary 2021
Kisan Credit Card Beneficiary 2021

Agriculture Minister, Narendra Singh Tomar said that around Rs 14 lakh crore has already been disbursed to the farmers through the Kisan Credit Card (KCC) Scheme against a loan target of Rs 16 lakh crore to set for the current year.

Stating the benefits of the Central Government schemes for the agriculture sector should reach the correct farmers, he said that the funds are not a constraint; it is the implementation of the scheme, which should be proper.

While addressing the conference of Lt Governors/Administrator of all the Union Territories, Narendra Singh Tomar, emphasizing on KCC drive, said that the Kisan Credit Card cover has been provided to the farmers even under the shadow of Covid.

The government has been running a campaign for the saturation of KCC to the farmers since February 2020 to cover all the leftover farmers with a special focus on the PM Kisan Beneficiaries. Tomar also said that Agriculture Infrastructure Fund (AIF) will help farmers to secure loans very easily for the development of infrastructure at the farm gate, & this will help small farmers in the storage & protection of their crops.

Tomar’s Special Mention of NMOOP

He also highlighted that there is a lot of potential in Union Territories for the cultivation of high-value crops & oil palm as the global standards.

The National Mission on Oil Seeds & Oil Palm (NMOOP) was discussed with emphasis on Andaman & Nicobar. The possibilities for the oilseeds crop in Union territories of Jammu & Kashmir & Ladakh were also highlighted. The presentation also explained that the Submission of the seeds & planting materials.

J & K Lt Governor, Manoj Sinha & his Andaman & Nicobar Islands counterpart, Admiral D.K. Joshi (retd) participated in the discussion & gave an overview of the implementation of various schemes of the central government in their respective Union Territories.

Ministers of the State for Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Kailash Choudhary & Shobha Karandlaje, Agriculture Secretary, Sanjay Agarwal along with the senior officials of Ministry & progressive farmers from all Union Territories.

Like this article?

Hey! I am M Kanika. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters