1. Blog

Agricultural Awards in India

Abha Toppo
Abha Toppo

Agriculture is said to be the backbone of the Indian economy that contributes around 23 percent to the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and employs more than 70 percent of the total population in the country. Almost all rural India is dependent on agriculture and related activities like animal husbandry, dairy, poultry and fisheries.

Enormous work has been done in the past few years by the farmers, researchers, scientists, agro- industries, individual institutions, NGOs etc to transform the agriculture and allied sectors in India. Hence the agricultural awards are given to honor these people for their immense contribution in the field.

Agricultural awards in India are given by various well-known institutions as well as government.

List of agriculture awards

1. Indian Council of Agricultural Research, ICAR awards

The ICAR is an independent body that coordinates and manages agricultural research and education in India. ICAR offers many awards to the farmers as well as the agriculture institutions for their outstanding contribution and innovation.

ICAR awards to farmers:

  1. a) Jagjivan Ram Innovative Farmer Award (national and zonal)

  • 1 Annual National award of Rs 1 lakh to a farmer plus an equal amount of travel grant across the country to encourage his achievement are to be given to other farmers at a national level 

  • 11 annual awards of Rs 50000 each plus equal amount of travel grant to promote his achievement.

  1. b) N.G. Ranga Farmer Award for Diversified Agriculture

  • 1 Annual National Award of Rs 1 lakh for notable contribution and innovation in the areas of Diversified Agriculture.

  1. c) Haldhar Organic Farmer Award

The award is annual in nature and consists of prize money worth Rs 1 Lakh.

ICAR awards to the institutions:

a) Sardar Patel Outstanding ICAR Institution Award

b) Chaudhary Devi Lal Outstanding All India Coordinated Research Project Award

c) Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Krishi Vigyan Protshahan Puraskar(National& Zonal)

d) Atal Bihari Vajpayee ICAR Challenge Award

e) Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award for Outstanding Research in Agricultural Sciences

f) Vasantrao Naik Award for Outstanding Research Application in Dry Land Farming Systems

g) Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Award for Outstanding Research in Tribal Farming Systems

2. Crystal National Agri Awards

Instituted by the Crystal Group, these awards felicitate people who have made difference to the field of agriculture. It has 12 awards for farmers who have adopted progressive farming technique, innovation in agriculture or in milk production, fruit production, poultry farming and sericulture. It gives 6 awards to research scientists and one to the NGO.  There is also a Special Jury award for an individual for his life time contribution in the field of agricultural development.

3. Mahindra Samriddhi India Agri Awards

The prime objective of the 'Mahindra Samriddhi India Agri Awards' is to honor and recognize the contributions made by the unsung heroes in the field of Indian agriculture.

  • Krishak Samrat Samman (Farmer of the year – Male): Award Subcategories: a) Less than 5 acres b) 5 to 20 acres c) More than 50 acres

  • Krishi Prerna Samman (Farmer of the year – Female)

  • Krishi Yuva Samman (Farmer of the year – Youth

  • Krishi Samrat Samman

  • Krishi Shiksha Samman ( Agricultural University in India)

  • Krishi Vigyan Kendra Samman

  • Krishi Sahyog Samman

4. Udyan Pandit Award

The Udyan Pandit Award is given for excellence in the cultivation of fruits grown in India. An award is given in each of the following fruit categories:

  • apple

  • banana

  • grapes

  • guava

  • mandarin

  • mango

  • pineapple

  • orange

 It is sponsored by the National Horticultural Board awarded at state as well as national levels.

5. Agriculture Leadership Awards

The global leadership summit and awards is being given by Indian Council of Food and Agriculture with the support of Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare; Ministry of Food Processing Industries and Ministry of Commerce. The award categories include:

  • Best Fisheries State Award

  • International Leadership Award

  • Life Time Achievement Award etc.

6. Borlaug Award

The Borlaug Award is an award given by a fertilizer company, Coromandel International, to the outstanding Indian scientists for their research and contributions in the field of agriculture and environment.

7. Awards by State Governments

Each state government in India has also instituted several awards to recognize the contribution of farmers. Here are some of them:

  • Punjab - Hero of the Farmers

  • West Bengal - Krishak Sanman Puraskar, Krishi Ratna, Krishi Rabi Award

  • Bihar - Best Progressive Farmer, Green Lady Award

  • Jharkhand - Best SRI farmer Award, Sarwashreshth Krishak Puruskar

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands - Island’s Best Farmer Award, Lt Governor’s Commendation Certificate

Like this article?

Hey! I am Abha Toppo. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters