1. Blog

Best Agriculture Colleges in India

M Kanika
M Kanika
Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore
Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore

As we know that Agriculture is the backbone of Indian Economy and this is one sector which is growing constantly hence the demand for the trained professional is also increasing day by day. Anyone, who wants to be a part of the sector, can take admission in graduate and post graduate courses offered by various agriculture colleges in India.

After completing studies, they can get a job in both Government & private sector. Agriculture graduate or Post Graduate can apply for Agricultural Research Scientist, Farm Manager, and Agriculture Officer etc posts.

If you want to be successful in this sector, you need to take admission in a reputed agri university so that you can get maximum benefits in the form of campus facilities & goof faculty.

Therefore, if you want to make career in Agriculture Sector, just go through the list of best agriculture colleges in India.

ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi

Journey of the Indian Agriculture Research Institute (IARI), popularly known as ‘Pusa’ Institute began in the year 1905 at Pusa (Bihar) with generous grant of 30,000 pounds from an American philanthropist, Henry Phipps. Earlier this institute was known as Agricultural Research Institute (ARI) that functioned with 5 departments - Agriculture, Chemistry, Cattle Breeding, and Economic Botany & Microbiology. The Bacteriology unit was added in the year 1907.

The ARI name was changed to Imperial Institute of Agricultural Research in 1911 & in 1919; it was renamed as the Imperial Agricultural Research Institute After the devastating earthquake it was shifted in the National Capital on 29th July 1936, and renamed as Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI). 

Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana

Punjab Agriculture University was founded in the year 1962. PAU was inaugurated by Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru, Prime Minister of India on 8th July, 1963. In February 1970, the Haryana Agricultural University was carved out by an Act of Parliament. Now the university has four constituent colleges and these are:

College of Home Science and College of Basic Science & Humanities, College of Agriculture, College of Agricultural Engineering & Technology, besides PAU Pre-Graduation Institutes of Agriculture at Gurdaspur & Bathinda.  It  also extends its  services to farmers through 14 Farmers' Advisory Service Centres (FASCs) in districts such as- Amritsar, Bathinda, Abohar (Fazilka), Faridkot, Gurdaspur, Hoshiarpur , Kapurthala, Tarntaran , Ferozpur, , Noor Mahal (Jalandhar), , Ropar, Patiala, Barnala, Sangrur, & one in Chandigarh.

Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore

Tamil Nadu Agriculture University (TNAU) has its genesis from establishment of an Agricultural School at Saidapet, Madras; Tamil Nadu as early as in the year 1868 & it was later relocated at Coimbatore. In 1920, it was affiliated at the Madras University. TNAU assumed the full responsibilities of Agricultural Education & Research and supported the State Agricultural Department by delivering the research products.

Till 1946, Agricultural College & Research Institute, Coimbatore was the only Institute for Agri Education for the whole South India. In 1958, TNAU was recognized as a Post Graduate Centre leading to the Master’s & Doctoral degrees.  The Agricultural College & Research Institute, Madurai was established in the year 1965. These two colleges were formed the nucleus of Tamil Nadu Agriculture University, while it was established in the year 1971.  

Kerala Veterinary and Animal Sciences University, Wayanad

The Kerala Veterinary & Animal Sciences University (KVASU) was established in December 2010 vide Act 3 of 2011 called the Kerala Veterinary and Animal Sciences University Act 2010 to the further education, research & extension services in the field of Veterinary and Animal Sciences. It was established by the government of Kerala. The territorial jurisdiction of the University extends to whole state of Kerala.

The Headquarters of the University is located in scenic hilly terrain of Pookade, Wayanad in the Kerala with a land area of approx 100 acres. The University encompasses the three faculties and these are: The Faculty of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, the Faculty of Dairy Science and the Faculty of Poultry Science & eight constituent colleges such as:

The College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences at Mannuthy in Thrissur district & Pookode in Wayanad district, College of Avian Sciences and Management located at Mannuthy Pookode, Thiruvazhamkunnu & Kolahalamedu & College of Food Technology at Thumburmuzhy, Thrissur district.

West Bengal University of Animal & Fishery Sciences, Kolkata

West Bengal University of Animal & Fishery Sciences was established on 2nd January, 1995 vide West Bengal University of Animal & Fishery Sciences of Act 1995 to impart educational training & to conduct the research in veterinary and animal sciences & fishery sciences and also to cater needs of farming community of State of West BengalDuring this period the University has been recognized as the leading institutions of country to uplift socio-economical status of farmers. 

The hallmark of West Bengal University of Animal and Fishery Sciences has been the development of human resources to meet requirements of the society and to promote socio-economic development of the region. There are three faculties in this University and these are: Faculty of Veterinary & Animal Sciences (B.V.Sc. & AH, M.V.Sc. & Ph.D. courses), Faculty of Fishery Sciences (B.F.Sc., M.F.Sc.  and Ph.D. courses) and Faculty of Dairy Technology (B.Tech.(DT), M.Tech. (DT) and M.Sc. (Dairying) and Ph.D. courses.  

Like this article?

Hey! I am M Kanika. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters