Awardees of Gandhi Peace Prize for the Years 2015-2018

The Gandhi Peace Prize for the years 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 has been announced. These prizes have been conferred to Vivekananda Kendra and Kanyakumari for the year 2015 for their contribution in rural development, education, development of natural resources. 

For the year 2016, it is awarded jointly to Akshaya Patra Foundation for its contribution in providing mid-day meals to millions of children across India and Sulabh International for its contribution in improving the condition of sanitation in India and emancipation of manual scavengers. 

It is awarded to Ekal Abhiyan Trust for the year 2017, for their contribution in providing Education for Rural and Tribal Children in remote areas pan India, Rural Empowerment, Gender and Social Equality. 

Lastly, for the year 2018, Shri YoheiSasakawa for his contribution in Leprosy Eradication in India and across the world is awarded with the peace prize. 

The jury under the Chairmanship of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and comprising the CJI, Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Speaker of LokSabha Smt. Sumitra Mahajan, Leader of the single largest Opposition Party in LokSabha Shri. Mallikarjuna Kharge and MP, L.K. Advani after detailed discussions on 16th January, 2019 unanimously decided to select the above organization or persons in recognition to their outstanding contributions in the fields which are mentioned above. 

The annual award was also instituted by the Government of India in 1995 during the commemoration of 125th Birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. The award carried an amount of Rs 1Crore, a Citation in a scroll, a plaque as well as an exquisite traditional handicraft/handloom item. 

Share your comments

Subscribe to newsletter

Sign up with your email to get updates about the most important stories directly into your inbox

Krishi Jagran Marketing
Krishi Jagran