1. News

ICC World Cup 2019 Final: The Host England Vs New Zealand

KJ Staff
KJ Staff
world cup

The 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup is the 12th Cricket World Cup. It is being hosted by England and Wales. World cup 2019 started on 30th May 2019 and would end tomorrow i.e. 14th July 2019. This is the fifth time that England and Wales have hosted the World Cup. The world cup 2019 final will be played at the Lord's on 14 July 2019 by the host England, who defeated the champions Australia in the semi-final and New Zealand who defeated India on 10th July. This time the clash is between two such teams who haven't won the finals till now.

Head to Head

The much awaited final match of the World cup 2019 will be played tomorrow i.e Sunday, 14th July. Neither England nor New Zealand  has ever won the World cup so far and interestingly this would be 4th time that England has entered into the finals. Earlier they had played final match in 1979, 1987, 1992 but unfortunately could not win the trophy. On the other hand, it is the 2nd final for New Zealand  - they played 1st final in 2015 but couldn't win.  For the first time these two teams will play final against each other.

Since 1973, New Zealand  has played 90 matches with England, out of which

New Zealand  won = 43 matches

England won = 41 matches

No Result = 4

Match tie/ draw = 2

In world cups (Total matches played = 8 )

New Zealand  won = 5

England won = 3

In this world cup England vs New Zealand  

England - 305/8 and New Zealand  - 186 all out. Key players of this match from England side were Jason Roy (60 runs), Jonny Bairstow ( 106 runs) and Eoin Morgan (42 runs) and Mark wood took 3 wickets  and Tom Latham was the only player from new Zealand  with 57 runs and Trent Boult and Matt Henry with 2 wickets each

Probable Playing Eleven (ix)

New Zealand: Guptil, Nicholls, Williamson(c), Taylor, Latham(wk), Neesham, Grandhomme,Henry, Santner, Boult and Ferguson.

England: Roy, Bairstow, Root, Morgan(c), Stokes, Buttler(wk), Woakes, Plunkett, Rashid, Archer and wood.

Key Players

On New Zealand side its  Kane Williamson (548) Ross Taylor, Trent Boult , Henry and Lockie Ferguson.

On England its Roy, Joe Root (549 runs) and Bairstow (501 ) and Jofra Archer has 17 wickets.

Date, Venue , timings and umpires

Final will be played on 14th of July (Sunday ) at Lord's ground and the play will start at 10:30 am (3:00 pm in India). Umpires are Kumar Dharmasena (SL) and Marais Erasmus (SA)

So let’s see who finally wins their first World Cup, New Zealand or the host England.

Like this article?

Hey! I am KJ Staff. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters