1. News

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Update: Bihar Grand Alliance Seat Sharing Announcement Today, BJP’s First Candidates List Soon

Abha Toppo
Abha Toppo

As the Lok Sabha elections 2019 is just weeks away, the political parties in India have started making strategies and plans for the national polls. The BJP or Bharatiya Janata Party held a meeting on 16th March to shortlist the candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The meeting was presided over by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi and party chief Amit Shah. According to sources, the meeting at the BJP’s headquarters in Delhi that went on till 2 am on Sunday (17th March) was basically held to discuss and decide upon candidates that the party will field in different constituencies in 11 states.

Meanwhile, the grand alliance led by Shri Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD or Rashtriya Janta Dal in Bihar, is expected to declare seat sharing today. The Rashtriya Janta Dal is likely to contest on 20 seats while Congress on 11 of the total 40 Lok Sabha seats in the state, according to reports.

On the other hand, Congress's in-charge in eastern Uttar Pradesh, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, is scheduled to visit Lucknow city on 17th March and will reach Prayagraj by evening. This is Priyanka’s second visit after being appointed as the Congress’ general secretary and sources said that she may spend at least 4 days in the state.

priyanaka gandhi

The former IAS officer, Shah Faesal will be launching his political outfit known as 'Jammu and Kashmir People's Movement' at an event in Rajbagh today. The 2010 batch UPSC topper, Faesal had resigned from the Indian Administrative Service in the month of January this year.

Furthermore, the AIADMK has also finalised the seat sharing agreement with the Bhartiya Janta Party in Tamil Nadu. The party is expected to contest in 20 seats in the state, whereas its allies will contest in the left over seats.

It must be noted that the AIADMK will contest in Madurai, Nilgiris, Chennai South, Salem, Tirunelveli & 15 others seats. Meanwhile, its supporter PMK will contest in Central Chennai, Villupuram, Dharmapuri, Sriperumpudur and 3 others.

And the BJP will contest in Coimbatore, Kanyakumari, ,Sivaganga,  Tuticorin & Ramanathapuram.

States that will contest on 11th April in the 1st phase of the upcoming seven-phase Lok Sabha polls 2019 include Bihar, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Jammu & Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand & West Bengal.

Meanwhile, Amit Shah will meet with the core committee of the party today evening after which the party may announce its first list of candidates, according to sources.

Like this article?

Hey! I am Abha Toppo. Did you liked this article and have suggestions to improve this article? Mail me your suggestions and feedback.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters