1. News

SP's 'Power Play' in UP: Want 300 Free Electricity Units? Register Your Names, Says Akhilesh

Ahead of the seven-phase Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, former Chief Minister and Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav on Tuesday promised 300 units of free household electricity, if he comes to power.

Ayushi Raina
Akhilesh Yadav, national president of the Samajwadi Party
Akhilesh Yadav, national president of the Samajwadi Party

Akhilesh Yadav, national president of the Samajwadi Party, said on Tuesday that the party will launch a door-to-door campaign in Uttar Pradesh to register domestic users for up to 300 units of free electricity if he comes to power. 

Yadav stated that the new scheme, which would be implemented if the SP wins the forthcoming Assembly election, will be unveiled on Wednesday. On January 1, Yadav unveiled the free power scheme. 

The SP chief said that 300 units free power to domestic consumers and free power for irrigation to farmers will be the “number one promise” in the manifesto that is soon to be formally released. 

"When filling out forms to apply for the scheme, applicants should type in their name exactly as it appears on their electricity bill," Yadav stated. He told that party cadres will fill out the forms in a door-to-door campaign beginning tomorrow. 

Speaking on the SP's manifesto for the forthcoming election, Akhilesh stated that the party's manifesto has taken into account suggestions from the general public as well as other communities such as doctors, traders, and farmers. 

Among other election promises, the Samajwadi Party has promised 25 lakh to the families of farmers who died in the farm agitation, a minimum support price on all crops, interest-free loans, insurance, and pensions for farmers, 5 lakh to cyclists who died in road accidents, and 5 lakh to those who died in bull attack. 

The voting for 403 assembly seats of Uttar Pradesh will be done in seven phases from February 10.. 

In Uttar Pradesh, voting will take place on February 10, 14, 20, 23, 27, March 3 and March 7.

The counting of votes will take place on March 10. 

In the 2017 elections, the BJP had won 325 of the 403 seats. The SP and Congress had fought the elections together. The SP won 47 seats and Congress 7. Mayawati’s BSP was successful in winning 19 seats, while 4 seats were bagged by others.

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters